Big Love in Times of Impermanence (Online)

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 27/03/2021 - 28/03/2021
All Day

Categories


with Tasnim Hermila Fernandez and Saadi Neil Douglas-Klotz

March 27 and 28, 2021

Online – Times: PLEASE NOTE: Due to the USA/Canada moving to daylight savings time on 14 March and other countries later or not at all, we will keep the US/Canada times the same, as below. Please check the internet (Please check the internet (for instance, the world clock link) for your own starting time to match the US starting times below. 

Saturday 27 March
*Central Europe: 17:30 – 20:30
*Scotland & UK: 16:30 – 19:30

*New York: 12:30PM – 3:30PM
*Madison, WI: 11:30AM – 2:30PM
*California (West Coast US): 9:30 AM – 12:30PM

 

Sunday 28 March
*Central Europe: 18:30 – 21:30
*Scotland & UK: 17:30 – 20:30
*New York: 12:30PM – 3:30PM
*Madison, WI: 11:30AM – 2:30PM
*California (West Coast US): 9:30 AM – 12:30PM

 

Meditation, chant, zikr, Sufi stories, sacred movement, body prayer, spiritual practice

Life constantly asks us the same question: how do we connect the seen and unseen sides of life, its limited and unlimited expressions? From the moment we are born, what and why dominate our existence. While we may think of our lives in generalities, in big pictures, we live them in details. The unifying answer to all of the questions is love. Big love. Meaning not only romantic loves and friendships, but also how we deal honestly with teachers, students, family members, neighbors, acquaintances, enemies and, most importantly, ourselves. The Prophet Muhammad once said, “the inner path is all about how we conduct ourselves in life” (“the din is all adab”). This is why the larger questions of love feature so importantly in Sufi stories and poetry, as well as in the transmission of our lineage teachers.

Through teaching, poetry, stories, chant, meditation, zikr and other spiritual practices, we will aim to go beyond the cultivated but tame stereotypes of love into its wild spaces and unanswered questions. These questions confront us every day in a world in which many things we thought certain—institutions, ways of relating to each other, even our environment— seem to be crumbling around us. In the words of the classical Sufi poets, we are living in a veritable “tavern of ruins.

Location: This will be a meeting via Zoom video conference.

Registration: Pre-registration is required, although there is no registration fee. Donations are accepted for this event. Recordings will be made, but you must register to receive a link to them. Details including Zoom link will be sent after registration is received.
Register at Signup Genius:

Sign Up!

https://www.signupgenius.com/go/60B094DACAF2EA1FE3-tasnimandsaadiretr

You may also register for phone connection to the retreat via US Mail by sending name and address to:
Madison Sufis
P.O. Box 46463
Madison, WI 53744

For more information: Call Basir at 1- (608) 338-0709 or E-mail

Retreat flyer in pdf here