The Opening: Surah Fateha

A Prayer for Peace

A recording of a sung version of the first sura of the Quran, emphasizing its message of love, unity and surrender to the One Being.

“These melodies came through while on a personal retreat during the passing of my own Sufi guide, Moineddin Jablonski, in February 2001 and are dedicated to him. He embodied the way of the Sufi with a self-effacement that embraced both the shadow and light in the being of every person, with joy and acceptance. As his teacher once remarked about one of his Sufi guides, ‘He was the most perfect ordinary human being I ever met.’ I encourage these melodies to be used as a chanted prayer for peace and for peace meditations.” —Neil Douglas-Klotz (Saadi Shakur Chisti), March 2002.

Recording in Germany in September 2001 with the participants of the NdL Advanced Dance and Walk retreat.  Violin: Fatima Barbara Kung. Recording and Mastering: Ali Michael Stoeckel. With many thanks and Ya Shakur to the German Network for the Dances of Universal Peace, NdL Secretariat, Am Schoelerpark 26, 10715 Berlin, Germany:

For information on the Sufi Ruhaniat International: and in Europe:


1. Sura Fateha (spoken) 0:25

2. Bismillahir rahmanir rahim 5:23

3. Alhamdulillahi  rabbi-l‘alamin arrahman irrahim 6:11

4. Maliki  yaumadin 5:50

5. Iyyaka n‘abudu wa iyyaka nasta‘ain 5:49

6. Ihdina sirat almustaqim  7:42

7. Sirat alladhina an‘amta ‘alayhim

ghayril maghdubi ‘alayhim wa laddalin 4:36

8. Sura Fateha (spoken) 0:25

Listen to samples:

Bismillahir rahmanir rahim


Ihdina sirat almustaqim

Warning: The mp3 files here are in a digital archive (.zip), which cannot be downloaded directly to smartphones, iPads, Chromebooks or tablets. Download your choice to a PC or Mac computer first and then transfer the files to your phone or portable device. Please verify that your equipment is capable of downloading and playing standard mp3 files. Please determine first where–into which folder or location–your computer downloads files. Usually your internet browser will tell you or ask you where they should go.

(*Any remaining stock of the original CD can be purchased by enquiring at:

Return to Chant and Music Downloads Page